The Practical Guide to Patchwork book review and giveaway!

**Comments are now closed – I will post the winners on Tuesday, Nov. 2nd!**

Today it’s my turn on the Practical Guide to Patchwork blog tour!

IMG_5000

I was so happy to be asked to be a part of this tour. I have been reading Elizabeth’s blog since I started quilting and it has played no small role in my learning to quilt.  I’m certain that this is also the case for a lot of you reading – her tutorials and instructions have always been so well done.   I’m so happy to report that her book perfectly reflects her amazing skills!

First off, it starts with an entire section on all of the quilting basics…

IMG_5019

All the info you’d ever need to make a quilt, from start to finish – laid out in Elizabeth’s clear and informative style.   This alone makes the book worthwhile but there are also 12 great patterns included.

Some simple…

IMG_5072

…and some a touch more involved.

IMG_5070

For all of the patterns Elizabeth gives alternate fabrics suggestions.  That’s not something you see in most quilt books and it really encourages the reader to think about the patterns in different colors and be inspired to come up with combos of their own.

IMG_5069

People have often asked me for quilting book recommendations and I often struggle to name just one as I find some have great inspiration and some have great instructions, but often they don’t have both…  Until now!  The Practical Guide to Patchwork really provides both and is overall a beautiful book.  Definitely one to add to your library!

So now on to the giveaway!   Stash Books and Elizabeth are giving away one copy of the book to a lucky winner! Just comment on this post and you’ll be entered into the giveaway.

But it doesn’t end there, Elizabeth is also giving away this great fat eight bundle and a second lucky commenter will win the bundle!

Alissa Eighths

Good luck to all of you!  And don’t forget that the blog tour continues:

Monday, November 1: Connecting Threads
Tuesday, November 2: Rossie
Wednesday, November 3: One Shabby Chick
Thursday, November 4: True Up
Friday, November 5: Pink Chalk Studio
Saturday, November 6 Whip Up

I will close comments on Monday, Nov. 1st at 9:00 PM PST.

722 Responses to “The Practical Guide to Patchwork book review and giveaway!”

  1. Kelley November 1, 2010 at 4:12 am #

    The book looks terrific. I love the pictures!

  2. Audrey November 1, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    This looks like a great book! Thank you for the great review.:)

  3. Cathy Staeven November 1, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    Elizabeth is so inspiring – I love her book and would like to win one to gift to a friend that needs some inspiration. Thanks for the chance.

  4. Candace November 1, 2010 at 4:58 am #

    Thanks for the chance to win. I can’t wait to get the book, maybe an early Christmas gift.

  5. PeachRainbow November 1, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    Loving this tour!

  6. Diana November 1, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    I’m very excited to read this book. Elizabeth’s blog is so informative and it sounds like the book will be a great reference for years to come!

  7. Paige November 1, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    This book looks so great! I can’t wait to see it in real life!

  8. SewLindaAnn November 1, 2010 at 5:27 am #

    This is another must have book. She’s such an inspiring person and she has given out a lot on her blog. Love her designs.

  9. Melissa H. November 1, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    I would love to get my hands on that book. :)

  10. Lindsay K. November 1, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    Beautiful fabric and a great looking book! I would love to add these to my collection :-)

  11. Marianne November 1, 2010 at 5:40 am #

    I would love to have this book. It looks great!

  12. Jocelyn November 1, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    This book looks so fabulous. I have followed Elizabeth’s blog ever since I started blogging. Thanks for the review.

  13. Lynne November 1, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    Looks fabulous! Thanks for the giveaway!

  14. Michelle November 1, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    I’m loving the colours of that fabric bundle! And I can’t wait for the book.

  15. Pattij November 1, 2010 at 6:13 am #

    I would LOVE a copy of this book! Love her work!

  16. Sew Create It - Jane November 1, 2010 at 6:16 am #

    Looks like a great book..please count me in :o)

  17. Jacqueline November 1, 2010 at 6:21 am #

    Love the blog… and can’t wait to get my hands on the book!!!!!

  18. Katrina November 1, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    I can’t’ wait to get my hands on this book – I love Elizabeth’s tutorials so I know this will be great.

  19. JacquieLH November 1, 2010 at 6:34 am #

    This book is on my must-gets as a Christmas present to myself :)

  20. Dana November 1, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    The more I read during this tour, the more I want that book. I’ve always loved her blog.

  21. Emily C November 1, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    I’m crossing my fingers!!!

  22. Kate November 1, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    I love Elizabeth’s blog — no reason the book shouldn’t be fantastic, too!

  23. Tam November 1, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    I’m always up for new quilting ideas. Please count me in.

  24. Christine November 1, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    What a beautiful selection of fat eights, great colours and prints. Now, which pattern to make first with them…

  25. Ileen November 1, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    Looks wonderful! Looking forward to all the quilts in her book. Thanks

  26. Rachel G. November 1, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    Such lovely photos for endless inspiration!

  27. karen November 1, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    ohhh, how i would LOVE that book!! Fingers crossed and thanks for the chance to win!!

  28. Krystina November 1, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    Oh I really hope I win this book! Thanks Alissa for the chance!

  29. CJ November 1, 2010 at 7:15 am #

    I am drooling over this book. Thanks for the tour!

  30. Ginny November 1, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    This book is truly an inspiration to think “outside the box.” Looking forward to adapting her patterns and ideas!

  31. Anne-Marie Short November 1, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    The book looks amazing it is always nice to sit somewhere other than the computer for my quilting inspirations! If I’m not the winner then the book is going on the Christmas list!

  32. Denise in PA November 1, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    Great review – this looks like a fabulous book!

  33. aSprinkling November 1, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    I would just love to win this book! It is certainly getting lots of exposure around blogland!

  34. Suzi November 1, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    Love the blog tour! Great fun!

  35. Dianne November 1, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    Thanks for another peek inside Elizabeth’s book and a great giveaway!

  36. Sylvia November 1, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    The book looks great would love to win it!

  37. Brandy November 1, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    I can’t wait to crack open Elizabeth’s book for quilt ideas to make for my new baby!

  38. Jessica November 1, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    I’m just drooling over that book!

  39. Ebeth November 1, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    Elizabeth’s blog is so inspiring. There’s one quilt tutorial that I have as an open page on my computer so I see it every day. Can’t wait to get the book!

  40. Jill November 1, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    I’ve been reading her site for some time, and am always in awe! Can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

  41. lisa November 1, 2010 at 7:40 am #

    I think the book looks awesome. And so does the fabric!

  42. Lael November 1, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Oooh,I’d like to steal away from the world with the book and the fabric!

  43. Sara November 1, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    i’m enjoying the tour. the book looks fantastic.

  44. Blogless me November 1, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    I follow Elizabeth’s blog in my Google Reader and love the look of her quilts. It would be a treat to win one of the prizes!

  45. tayamg November 1, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Great blog hop stop! Thanks for the giveaway-I have been looking forward to Elizabeth’s book!

  46. Jamie November 1, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    This book looks fantastic. Can’t wait to get my own copy (I’ve already written to Santa Claus.)

  47. Kelly B. November 1, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    This book has been on my Christmas list since she announced it!

  48. Jennyroo November 1, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    Would love a chance to win either of these lovely prizes!!!

  49. Anna November 1, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    What an awesome giveaway! And I just love the alternate fabrics part.

  50. kellie November 1, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    I would love to win a copy of Elizabeth’s book!

    PS–I read through some of your posts…you local Modern Quilt Guild looks wonderful—how cool that it grew by leaps and bounds in just a year! Sadly, there isn’t a modern guild in my area, so I have to live vicariously through others ;)

MY BOOKS:

Modern Minimal

Block Party

I’m a member of the MQG!

QuiltCon

I sew on a Janome Horizon Memory Craft 8900 QCP

Archives

Copyright ©2008 - 2014 Alissa Haight Carlton - All Rights Reserved