The Practical Guide to Patchwork book review and giveaway!

**Comments are now closed – I will post the winners on Tuesday, Nov. 2nd!**

Today it’s my turn on the Practical Guide to Patchwork blog tour!

IMG_5000

I was so happy to be asked to be a part of this tour. I have been reading Elizabeth’s blog since I started quilting and it has played no small role in my learning to quilt.  I’m certain that this is also the case for a lot of you reading – her tutorials and instructions have always been so well done.   I’m so happy to report that her book perfectly reflects her amazing skills!

First off, it starts with an entire section on all of the quilting basics…

IMG_5019

All the info you’d ever need to make a quilt, from start to finish – laid out in Elizabeth’s clear and informative style.   This alone makes the book worthwhile but there are also 12 great patterns included.

Some simple…

IMG_5072

…and some a touch more involved.

IMG_5070

For all of the patterns Elizabeth gives alternate fabrics suggestions.  That’s not something you see in most quilt books and it really encourages the reader to think about the patterns in different colors and be inspired to come up with combos of their own.

IMG_5069

People have often asked me for quilting book recommendations and I often struggle to name just one as I find some have great inspiration and some have great instructions, but often they don’t have both…  Until now!  The Practical Guide to Patchwork really provides both and is overall a beautiful book.  Definitely one to add to your library!

So now on to the giveaway!   Stash Books and Elizabeth are giving away one copy of the book to a lucky winner! Just comment on this post and you’ll be entered into the giveaway.

But it doesn’t end there, Elizabeth is also giving away this great fat eight bundle and a second lucky commenter will win the bundle!

Alissa Eighths

Good luck to all of you!  And don’t forget that the blog tour continues:

Monday, November 1: Connecting Threads
Tuesday, November 2: Rossie
Wednesday, November 3: One Shabby Chick
Thursday, November 4: True Up
Friday, November 5: Pink Chalk Studio
Saturday, November 6 Whip Up

I will close comments on Monday, Nov. 1st at 9:00 PM PST.

722 Responses to “The Practical Guide to Patchwork book review and giveaway!”

  1. Lindaroo November 1, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    You and Elizabeth have both been teachers to me in this year of beginning quilting. Thanks to you both!

  2. Chandra November 1, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Both of you have inspired me to start quilting. Thanks for all the information and the giveaway!

  3. Nan November 1, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    This is defintely on my Christmas list.

  4. Erin Nichole November 1, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    I’m a newbie to quilting and your blog has been a big inspiration! I need to take a look at this book!

  5. Rachel November 1, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    The two of you are among my sewing heroes! Keep up the good work.

  6. Miss White Wall November 1, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    How exciting!

  7. Krista November 1, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Love this book!

  8. mcregan November 1, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    Elizabeth has been such an inspiration to me; I would love to have her book. Thanks for the giveaway!

  9. Nancy November 1, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    I love your blog–and Elizabeth’s too. I’d love a copy of her book. Thanks for sponsoring the giveaway!

  10. anna dorothy November 1, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    this book looks great!

  11. Bec November 1, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    So excited about this book! Love the blog!

  12. Vicki November 1, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    It looks like a great book! Thanks for the chance to win!

  13. Alexis November 1, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I’m adding the book to my Christmas list!

  14. Suzanne November 1, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    beautiful fabrics and book!

  15. Sarah McGrath November 1, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Great book, thanks for the giveaway!

  16. Lisa November 1, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Thanks for a great blog Alissa! I’ll have to buy this book just because of all the inspiration from Elizabeth on her blog!

  17. Trish McCloy November 1, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    I’m new to quilting and need this book!

  18. Toby November 1, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    This book looks great! I cannot wait until I have some time to sew (probably not until Winter break from school).

  19. Shelley November 1, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Thanks for the review…the book sounds great. Maybe I will be a lucky winner. I am keeping my fingers crossed.

  20. Kristi Van Os November 1, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Love the blog tour – Here’s to hoping that I win! The book looks fantastic.

  21. Nichelle November 1, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Oh Fransson! is the first on my blog list to read every day. Thank you for sharing all the great information.

  22. shanna November 1, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    That quilt on top of the pile on the cover looks interesting, so curious how it’s made! Also, the colourcombo’s are great to see!

  23. Thea | mon ami November 1, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    I’m loving this blog tour! It just convinces more how much I want this book. Thanks for sharing
    xo

  24. Alyssa November 1, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    I hope, I hope, I hope I win!! Can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

  25. Wendy November 1, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Loving the blog tour! What a fabulous book!

  26. Amy November 1, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    This book looks great! Can’t wait to add it to my library.

  27. Chelley Black November 1, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    I really really really want this book!

  28. jane November 1, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    new to quilting and am always popping over to her blog for tips and hints when i get stuck. would love to win!

  29. Alicia November 1, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    If I don’t win the book, I’m going to ask for it for Christmas, looks great!

  30. jeanettesquiltin November 1, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    WOW..nice book to have, beautiful fabric to own!!

  31. Fi November 1, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    I love her website and can’t wait to nab a copy of the book- I’m sure it will be filled with useful quilting tips.

  32. Sara November 1, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    The book looks amazing. I really like the Kitchen Window pattern I’ve seen on some of the reviews.

  33. Kathleen November 1, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Love that fabric bundle!

  34. Stephanie in Michigan November 1, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    This blog tour is fun. It is fun to see everyone’s perspective on this book. The more I see of it, the more I love the book and want it! Oh, and the fabric bundles are just awesome, too!

  35. Suzanne November 1, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    I have enjoyed following this blog tour! Such neat blogs I was unaware of! I am eager to get my hands on the book and start a new project. With that said I had better be off to complete a couple projects before starting another one! Have a great Monday!

  36. Elisabeth November 1, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    well designed and elegant

  37. RebeccaL November 1, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I think this is the patchwork book I have been looking for! Love the colors in the fabric bundle.

  38. Rachelle November 1, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I can’t wait to read this book.

  39. kathy November 1, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    i’m trying my best to win this book. if not, it’s definitely on the christmas list!

  40. Chrysalis November 1, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    I am totally dying for that book! Please oh please pick me!!!

  41. Kimberly L.C. November 1, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Pick me, pick me! I’ve had her book on my Wish List since she announced it was coming out!

  42. EJ November 1, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    If I can’t win this book, I might have to buy it!

  43. Briana November 1, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Thanks for the book review. I can’t wait to see this book in person at some point!

  44. Laura November 1, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Thanks for the chance to win!!

  45. Lisa November 1, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    I love her website and find her so inspiring.

  46. Sara November 1, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Oh, lovely book! I would love to own it…and the fat quarters are cool, too!

  47. Teresa Eliason November 1, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    If I don’t win this book, I’m definitely buying it! And it will be the first quilting book I own.

  48. Julie F November 1, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    This book looks incredible. Thanks for hosting the giveaway!

  49. Ariane November 1, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    This book looks like it’s going to be a really good reference. Thanks for sharing!

  50. Mendi November 1, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    I cannot wait to get this book… I know I will learn so much. Thanks for the chance to win!

MY BOOKS:

Modern Minimal

Block Party

I’m a member of the MQG!

QuiltCon

I sew on a Janome Horizon Memory Craft 8900 QCP

Archives

Copyright ©2008 - 2014 Alissa Haight Carlton - All Rights Reserved